A Watercolor Universe

watercolor-universe

Hello readers! Let me begin by saying that everything is going smoothly with publishing at the moment. After a lot of time obsessing over the many scenarios where things could possibly go wrong along the way, it is refreshing and ultimately a relief that all seems to be falling into place as I expected. For this I am pretty thankful. After all, a rocky publication is the last thing that I need right now.

So, what’s new? Not much. Edits are swiftly approaching the end. Last minute decisions are being put in place. Otherwise, I’m at a bit of a stand-still until I can get my funding together. That isn’t expected to happen until probably the first portion of February, and then I can finally get this train moving to the final destination. Until then, I find myself re-reading The Contract, breaking it down bit by bit in order to weed out any grammatical errors (which, at this point, is a scarce occurrence, yet when I do spot one I become crazed and go through rounds of edits all over again), and posting promotional photos on social media in hopes of getting the word out about the publication date. It is no easy task promoting a book on your own. I’ve already come to accept that sales will most likely be dismal at first. This is my first novel and it is an independent publication. I do not have a lot of money to throw around, and let’s be honest here – I am walking into this knowing that I will probably spend more money on this publication than I will ever see again in its revenue. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it once more, this is not a financial venture. It can’t be. This sort of business is tricky, which is why it is so difficult to break out commercially. I don’t write for money, I write for expression and perception. My goal is and always will be to bring stories to life.

image-1-1-1

Life itself has been stressful. Work, college goals, supporting a household with never-ending bills and past debts that I somehow am expected to take on the responsibility of paying in the place of others has been a whirlwind for quite some time. Little things have been triggers of getting me down, which can be dangerous when I am so close to bringing my story to light. It is vital to remember what is truly important when times are difficult, friends. When the world seems to be against you, remember the priorities you find yourself fighting for. Sometimes without these reminders, it is easy to get lost in the everyday hassles that don’t mean as much as you build it up to be in your mind.

Caught up in these stresses, I decided that it would be a good time to pick up a long lost creative outlet of mine from childhood – watercolors. I never took it seriously. Mostly it was a few strokes of pink, black, and red across my Precious Moments coloring book pages my grandmother bought me. Now that I’m older, I can appreciate the simplicity of water bringing life to a block of color. My favorite technique is the universe. It’s easy, if you are patient. All you have to do is layer colors and allow them to mix freely with each other. This creates a combination of clouded hazes. Being the person that I am, I put my own twist to this and added black glitter for texture and sheen when in the light and specks of glow in the dark paint when submitted to darkness. In the end, it resulted in something that I am actually quite thrilled with – a painting that can be enjoyed in either setting.

Creating art that allows a person to see it from different perspectives is something that I hope to accomplish. There is never only one side to a story, but many angles and intertwined aspects that make up the grand telling. This is what I hope to do. When the colors cease to mix and the words become too difficult to write, this is when I hope that I can push forward and prove that though the odds are against me, this will pass. There is a certain degree of bravery in the madness of perseverance and blatant audacity.  

img_20170109_234540-2-3

This is the author portrait I have selected to be featured on the back cover of my novel. At first I wasn’t sure about it. Until very recently, my hair has been dark brown and wavy at best. Suddenly, after twenty-four years of life, somehow it was decided that I am to become a curly-haired redhead. The photo above doesn’t exactly feel like me. But that is the thing, I’m changing. Not only is my appearance evolving, so are my beliefs, my knowledge, and my stories. I refuse to lose sight of where I come from and who I am, but I am not so ignorant to rob myself of what lies ahead and the impact it will have on who I become. It is like Peter says, to become stagnant is to cease living. Suppose he’d know better than anyone about that sort of thing (as you’ll hopefully find out for yourself what I mean.)

Thank you for supporting this blog of mine. Every day I am becoming closer to the publication date, which is set for March 3, 2017. Some have asked me why I decided on this date. Well, I figured it would be best to release on the first Friday of the month. And also, I found the Bible verse 33.17 in the book of Ecclesiasticus to be quite fitting for what has been dubbed Helen’s book: “Consider that I laboured not for myself only, but for all them that seek learning.” I’d say that’s the essence of her character. Then again… I guess that is for you to decide.

M.I.H. McCool

Leave a Reply

